How I View the Desire to Live Rather Than End It All

“A hundred times I was upon the point of killing myself, but still I loved life. This ridiculous foible is perhaps one of our most fatal characteristics; for is ther anything more absurd than to wish to carry continually a burden which one can always throw down? to detest existence and yet cling to one’s existence? In brief, to caress the serpent which devours us till he has eaten our very heart?”

– “Candide” – Voltaire

I’m finding it far easier to quote the book than read it. Yet, I press on to finish. 

Speak Your Mind

