Brain Matter

The mass in my skull

determining my moods, my sins

my without, within

builds me, sustains

the strength that remains

even through dark passages

and the sunny

it shapes what is real and what is funny

my mom, and even the other one, cultivated 

varied thoughts and images

reminding that life is a mere scrimmage

of a play that I have yet to show

my brain is the possession I know

that I prize most

considering it lucked out with its quirky host

©2014, Latanya Ivey

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pride-and-joy/

(Photo courtesy: http://www.youcanbeatms.com)

13 thoughts on “Brain Matter

  1. Pingback: The Daily Prompt: Pride and Joy in Person | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: my prized “possession”-the daily prompt | peacefulblessedstar

  3. Pingback: itsmayurremember

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Pride and Joy | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Speak Your Mind

