Monkey

Have a monkey on my back

She doesn’t dance

She bites

She doesn’t laugh

She spites

Have a monkey on my back

She doesn’t cheer

She taunts

She doesn’t uplift

She haunts

This monkey on my back 

is a rocket

without controls or a pilot

Can’t push mute

She doesn’t compute

Can’t fix her

nor do I want to

I’ll suffocate if we separate 

For she is me

and I am her

She guides me

to the darkness that I crave

Without her

I’m no longer brave

Won’t kill her

Don’t ask me to

That would be a lesson in cruelty – ©2014, Latanya Ivey

Speak Your Mind

