Two Sides of the Same Coin

I saw the reverse cast screening of the Danny Boyle, National Theater of London-produced “Frankenstein” starring Jonny Lee Miller as the Creature and, my cinematic love, Benedict Cumberbatch. I wanted to see the reverse casting (previous screening Benny was the Creature) so that I could attain a complete perspective of the play’s scope.

It’s not fair to compare and contrast each actor because I enjoyed both. So much in fact, that I’ll see my fourth and fifth screenings in January (I go hard for the Cumberbatch fandom!). However, I will say that I enjoy aspects from both screenings.

Jonny Lee Miller as the Creature: Child-like, wanted the parental love that he wasn’t getting, more physical (I was surprised and thrilled at his performance as I came in with an obvious bias.)

Benedict Cumberbatch as the Creature: Menacing, wanted the parental respect that he wasn’t getting, more cerebral (I was thrilled, but not surprised at his acting caliber.)

Jonny Lee Miller as Victor Frankenstein: Good. But, his strength is in playing the Creature as his Victor was not fully-developed.

Benedict Cumberbatch as Victor Frankenstein: He was so good as Victor. Yes, there is a resemblance to Sherlock there. But, arrogant and condescending is still the same  no matter the character. He brought more meat to the role than Jonny. No bias there. (Also, I think he enjoyed his time with Naomie than Jonny.)

I guess I liked Benny as the Creature more simply due to the length and meatiness of the character. But, he gave my decision a run for its money with his Victor perspective. Whoo boy!

I am happy either way because I got to see the play in both incarnations. Am I obsessed with this play? Yes. But, until the National Theater of London releases this damn thing on DVD, they will continue to milk my money from my purse and I have no shame in helping them.

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Two Sides of the Same Coin

Speak Your Mind

