Welcome to the Terrordome #19 “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

Let’s do the Time Warp!

I’m changing it up tonight. I’m discussing Rocky Horror Picture Show. It’s a horror-musical and it rightfully belongs in this challenge.

Heeeeerrrrre’s Rocky!

This film is awesome and over-the-top, both on screen and on the stage. I’ve been fortunate to see it in both fashions and I’m grateful. Back in 1991, I discovered the film via a girlfriend, who played the film’s soundtrack while I visited her house. Of course, I knew about the song, “Time Warp” because it was often played at Halloween parties and I remember seeing the trailer and posters; but, I never saw the actual film. My parents wouldn’t have allowed it. These were the days of when you either had one or two t.v. sets in the house, one in the living room and one in your parents’ room. It’s funny that I wouldn’t be allowed to watch this film, while it was clearly okay to watch demented dolls and such. But, I digress.

However, when I saw the movie, I was hooked. I liked the hokey plot (reminiscent of 1950s drive-in or in-house double creature features), the songs, and, oh boy, the characters. Consider this: I was Janet Weiss before the film. Afterwards, I was more of a Magenta without any regrets. Here I was a young teenaged girl exposed to Dr. Frank-N-Furter (Oh, Tim Curry!), a British fox in curls, fishnets, black panties, and heels. (Thanks, Mr. Curry, for introducing me to my fascination with British dudes!).

Here’s a bit of the plot in a nutshell: A couple runs afoul of a flat tire in the midst of a rainstorm, seeking shelter in a Gothic house maintained by an eccentric bunch of people and hilarity and horror ensues! Oh, yeah, and like I said, it’s a musical. So, everybody sing! No spoilers, remember?

What I can share is the cast includes Susan Sarandon (before “Pretty Baby” and all of the success afterwards), Barry Bostwick, Meatloaf, and Tim Curry. They’re awfully young and you can see the budding potential in them. Sure, the movie is spotty in parts. But, the quirkiness and fervor of the music makes you realize that the cast was having fun and didn’t care about how the mainstream may react. So, it’s not about the plot so much as it is about the atmosphere and music.

Boy, the music! I have my favorite songs and my least favorites. But, overall, the soundtrack is really amazing and innovative, as Richard O’Brien, who played Riff-Raff in the film and London version of the show, wrote the songs. One day, I hope to see this at a midnight showing here in L.A. I might have to fight my husband on that one, though. But, it’ll be worth it.

8 out 10 “Sweet Transvestites”

Fun Fact About “Rocky Horror”: It was a complete flop when it premiered. But, with the help of its fans, it has become a cult classic and a staple in the midnight movie scene. The power of fans cannot be underestimated. So, don’t hate fandoms, fanboys, or fangirls! They yield the ability to make or break projects or stars.

Here are some of my favorite tunes from the movie/show:

“Science-Fiction”

“Sweet Transvestite”

“Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch-a, Touch Me”

“Dammit Janet”

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome to the Terrordome #19 “The Rocky Horror Picture Show”

  1. Pingback: Welcome to the Terrordome #19 “The Rocky Horror Picture Show” | The Days and Nights of KashmirGirl1976

Speak Your Mind

