Welcome to the Terrordome #12 “An American Werewolf in London”

Okay, my inner clock is discombobulated (I’ll explain why much later when I feel it’s okay to do so). So, I’m feeling very off today and things got put aside. However, I did keep up my challenge when I got a chance to chill out. I will review this film in bullet fashion because I’m too exhausted to write out a full review, even though this film rightfully deserves it. Perhaps, I’ll return and edit it.

Here’s 1981’s “An American Werewolf in London”!

  • If I had a “Top 20 Best Horror Films in Kashmirgirl’s Lifetime” list, I would include this one.
  • Directed by John Landis – the fine director of “Animal House”, “Trading Places”, and so much more.
  • It’s a horror-drama with some comedic elements mixed in.
  • The makeup! My goodness! Perhaps, it’s the top-billed star of the film. Rick Baker, you son of the Devil. You are still my favorite movie makeup artist of all time!!!! No one compares to you and that werewolf transformation (Well, maybe the Thriller video!), which is my favorite scene from the film.
  • “A naked American man stole my balloons”. Sorry, I still love this line. I had to say it.
  • It’s scary and terrifying. To think that a group of people knew of a werewolf’s existence, but still kicked two strangers out with death following them. Man, that’s cruel. For a time, when I was younger, I didn’t want to visit the English countryside. Of course, I’ve changed my mind. But, if I see a pentagram on a pub’s wall, I’m sticking to a corner and blending in as much as possible.
  • Seeing Jack (Griffin Dunne) and his progressing decomposition is still a highlight of the film. Once again, thank you, Rick Baker!
  • I still don’t understand how David (David Noughton) was invited to Alex’s (Jenny Agutter) apartment after knowing him for a few days in the hospital. Uh-uh. That’s not going to happen with me. The only exception would be for Benedict Cumberbatch, especially for the shower scene. Am I right? Or, am I right? There’s no wrong in a dream. But, that’s it and I’m checking for wolf scars.
  • Also, I never received an adequate explanation to why no one heard David’s transformation in a flat with the door wide open. The dude was screaming in pure agony. How could anyone ignore that?
  • I’m still freaked out by the scene when David and his family is relaxing at home only to be invaded and slaughtered by some creepy monsters. Of course, it’s one of David’s hallucinations, due to his curse and all. But, it continues to bother me. I had no business watching this film young.
  • I’m sure I’ve left some things out. But, this movie is a classic and there’s many reviews available. Great cast, plot, makeup, setting, and direction.
  • 9 out of 10

Fun Facts About “An American Werewolf in London”:

  • The end credits congratulates Prince Charles and Princess Diana on their marriage (Wow! I’m old.) and includes an Universal promo card, which says “Ask for Babs” (A callback to National Lampoon’s Animal House”).
  • Won a rightfully deserved Academy Award for Outstanding Achievement in Makeup. Hello, Rick Baker!!!
  • In 1981, two other werewolf films premiered, The Howling and Wolfen. (I like this one better.)
  • Has a soundtrack with songs referring to the moon: “Blue Moon” by both Bobby Vinton (slow version) and the Marcels (Doo-wop and much more known), and the song that would soundtrack the shower scene with Benedict and me, er, I mean, David Noughton and Jenny Agutter.
  • Has a crappy sequel, An American Werewolf in Paris, that has NOTHING to do with the first film – different director, makeup team (Bad CGI) and cast. Don’t bother with it.
Speak Your Mind

