Welcome Back, Fall!

“Designers want to dress me like Spring, in billowing things. I don’t feel like Spring. I feel like a warm red Autumn. – Marilyn Monroe

Yes, Ms. Monroe. I agree with you. Fall is also my favorite season,  and I love its return today. Granted, I have been living in Southern California for a decade now, and while it’s not the same change of weather like back in Pennsylvania, I still love it. It does cool off a bit here by about 10 degrees. But, it’s cool nonetheless.

While I don’t wear boots until maybe November, I still appreciate wearing hoodies, light jackets and jeans. Also, an extra hour of sleep and an earlier darkening of the day fills me with joy.

With this season, I get to admire the wonderful reds, oranges, and browns seen in leaves, home decor, and in clothing. Besides Winter, one can fully enjoy the taste of peppermint hot chocolate, hot apple cider, and a slice of pumpkin pie. Without a doubt, the sound of my youngest son’s laugh when he runs through a pumpkin patch, seeking one to take home, warms my heart.

So, welcome back, Autumn, and enjoy your stay. I know I will!

Is Fall your favorite season? What’s your favorite aspect of it?

Speak Your Mind

